If one or both of you are a Florida Resident, here is the information you need to get your marriage license.
- Florida Residents have a 3-Day waiting period to marry (F.S. 741.04) unless a Premarital Counseling Course Completion Certificate is presented.
- Your state residency is based on the photo ID you present at the time you apply.
To get a license, you must:
- Be unmarried.
- Be at least 18 years old.
For applicants under 18, consult our Marriage FAQs.
No blood test is required.
When and Where You Can Use Your License
Your marriage license:
- Is valid to be used after the 3rd day, unless you have completed a Premarital Counseling Course;
- May be used anywhere in the State of Florida;
- Must be used within 60 days; and
- Must be returned within 10 days after the wedding.
(Learn how to complete and return a Marriage License.)
What to Bring
- Valid, government-issued photo ID (i.e. Driver's License, Passport, state-issued ID card, and military ID.)
NOTE: Your state residency is determined by the address on your photo ID.
- Date of Birth (No documentation needed, just know the date.)
- Social Security Number (No card needed, just know the number.)
- Cash, credit card, check or money order to pay the license fee
- Premarital Counseling Certificate of Completion (if taken, optional)
- Date your previous marriage ended - either by death, annulment or divorce (No copies needed, just know the date.)
View a Pre-Wedding Checklist of what to bring.
[ Top ]
All couples can begin their marriage application online before visiting the Clerk and Comptroller's office. This means you can apply from the convenience of your home, anywhere in the world, and anytime of the day or night.
Begin your online Marriage Application today. Then, plan to appear at one of the Clerk and Comptroller's two office locations to complete the application process. We will hold your marriage license application request for 60 days, after which you will need to reapply.
[ Top ]
Get Married at the Courthouse
NOTE: Due to COVID-19 precautions, marriage ceremonies are temporarily suspended until further notice.
The Clerk and Comptroller can marry you in one of our beautiful, courthouse wedding settings for only $30.
Take a Premarital Counseling Course
Save When Paying
Marriage fees can be paid with cash, check, money order, and credit cards. All credit card payments are subject to a 3.5% processing fee. Consider paying with cash or check when you apply for your marriage license.
[ Top ]
Before You Come to the Clerk's Office
You don't need an appointment and the application process takes 30 minutes or less. If you're in a hurry, here are hints to help you save time.
- Begin your application online. Preview the Marriage Application to see the questions in advance.
- Take a Premarital Counseling Course before applying in order to use your license the same day. Otherwise, a 3-day waiting period will apply.
- Have your valid (not expired) government-issued photo identification, dates, documents, and payment ready.
- Read the Family Law Handbook online (en Espanol), before you arrive.
- Bring an interpreter if applicant does not sufficiently speak or understand English.
- For ADA accommodations, please contact our office before arriving.
Once You Are Here, Choose your Wedding Date
- Plan ahead. Be aware that holidays, such as Valentine's Day, are busy days for both issuing licenses and performing courthouse weddings.
- Consider getting married at the courthouse.
[ Top ]
For Couples Who Apply Online
If you filled out your marriage application online, before coming to the Clerk and Comptroller's office, be sure both of you bring your government-issued photo identification. You can go directly to the counter where the deputy clerk will assist you in completing the application process.
For Couples Who Apply in Person
If you did not apply for your marriage license online, before visiting the Clerk and Comptroller's office, you'll start by using a customer services kiosk to fill out your marriage application, review the Family Law Handbook (en Espanol), electronically complete and submit your application, and then go to the counter where the deputy clerk will assist you in completing the application process.
Completing the Application Process
At the counter, the deputy clerk will review your application, provide an oath, collect your payment, and issue your license. Both of your must have your government-issued photo identification with you.
The deputy clerk will also go over important information and instructions about using your license with you. Once you receive your Marriage License and the handout, Important Information for your Wedding Officiant, be sure to give them both to the person who will be performing your wedding ceremony so that they understand:
- Important dates, such as the first and last day you can get married, and when your license needs to be returned;
- Who can marry you;
- How to complete the license, and who need to sign it after your ceremony; and
- How and where to return your license to the Clerk and Comptroller.
Once we receive your executed license, we will place it on record with the Florida Bureau of Vital Statistics, and mail you a letter of congratulations along with a keepsake, gold-sealed certified copy for your records.
[ Top ]