OPERATION GREEN LIGHT will be offered Saturday, April 18, 2015 from 9am to 4pm at both office locations. If you have a traffic citation or criminal fines and fees that have moved to collections, take advantage of this unique opportunity to pay in full without paying the 25% collection agency surcharge. Click here for more info.
A civil traffic infraction is a non-criminal charge issued by a law enforcement officer in the form of a citation, or traffic ticket. In most instances, a civil traffic infraction may be disposed of by:
You may request any of the above options by completing the Traffic Citation Option Form, then returning it to the Clerk of the Circuit Court within the time allowed.
- The payment of a civil penalty, otherwise known as a fine;
- The election and completion of an authorized driver improvement course;
- A hearing before the Court.
|Sarasota Main Office
Customer Service Dept.
2000 Main Street,
Sarasota FL 34237
|Venice Branch Office|
R.L. Anderson Administration Ctr.
4000 South Tamiami Trail
Venice FL 34293
Civil traffic infractions must be paid within 30 calendar days from the date the citation was issued. Failure to pay may result in Driver License suspension. Late fees and reinstatement fees may be assessed.
PAY THE FINE
ATTEND DRIVER IMPROVEMENT or CHILD RESTRAINT SCHOOL
- You must make payment to the Clerk of the Circuit Court within 30 calendar days of the date the citation or ticket was issued.
- Citations may be paid by cash, check, money order or credit card. Please note that credit card transactions are subject to a 3.5% fee, assessed by a third-party payment processor (MyFloridaCounty.com). Credit card payments also require billing zip code and the three or four digit CVV code located on the back of the credit card.
- You may make payment in person, by mail or by telephone.
- You may verify the correct amount of the civil penalty through the Clerk's fee schedule, available in the Clerk's office locations or on this website.
- Failure to pay within the required time period may result in suspension of your license, an assessment of reinstatement fees, and late fees.
REQUEST A COURT HEARING - DENY THE VIOLATION
- You may choose this option no more than once every 12 months.
- You must complete and return the notarized Traffic Citation Option Form along with the applicable fees to the Clerk of the Circuit Court within 30 calendar days from the date the citation or ticket was issued.
- School must be elected and fine paid within 30 calendar days from the date of your citation.
- School must be completed and the certificate of completion returned to the Clerk of the Circuit Court within 90 days from the date of your citation.
- Failure to attend school timely and return your certificate of completion to the Clerk of the Circuit Court will result in points being assessed to your Driver License, additional penalties of $23.00, and possible suspension of your driving privilege.
- You may attend any driver improvement course approved by the State of Florida in any county in Florida. For a list of approved driver improvement schools, visit the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles's Basic Driver Improvement Course Providers webpage.
- You may be contacted by private driver improvement schools through the mail, or you may contact local schools for additional information. You may find schools listed in the phone directory under "Traffic School" or "Driving Instruction".
- You must notify the Clerk of the Circuit Court in writing within 30 days of the date the citation was issued to request a civil hearing be scheduled. You may use the Traffic Citation Option Form.
- You will receive a notice from the Clerk of the Circuit Court advising you of the date and time of your hearing.
- The law enforcement officer that issued the citation will be present at your hearing, as well as any witnesses listed by the officer.
- You are responsible for ensuring that any witnesses you want to testify appear at your hearing.
- If the Court finds that you committed the offense, you may be ordered to pay a fine and/or attend driver improvement school.
If You Have Been Charged With The Following Violations:
You may have the violation dismissed by providing proof of valid registration, driver's license, or insurance along with payment of the $10.00 fee to the Clerk of the Circuit Court, within 30 days of the date the citation or ticket was issued. This option is only available in cases in which your registration, driver's license or insurance was valid at the time the citation or ticket was issued.
- Vehicle Tag F.S. 320.07(3)(a) and 320.07(3)(b)
- Vehicle Registration F.S. 320.0605(1)
- No Driver's License F.S. 322.03(1)
- Failed to Exhibit or Carry Driver's License F.S. 322.15(1)
- Insurance F.S. 316.646(1)
DISMISSAL FOR DISABLED PARKING PERMIT or LICENSE TAG VIOLATION
You may have the violation dismissed by providing proof of valid disabled parking permit or disabled license plate to the law enforcement agency that issued the citation. Law enforcement will provide you with an Affidavit of Compliance, which must accompany your payment of the $10.00 fee to the Clerk of the Circuit Court within 30 days of the date the citation or ticket was issued. This option is only available in cases in which your disabled parking permit or disabled license plate was valid at the time the citation or ticket was issued.
Payments can be made:
Clerk of the Circuit Court
Traffic Violations Bureau
P.O. Box 850001
Orlando, Florida 32885-0070
|Credit Card By Phone:|
Please have traffic citation number and credit card information, including billing zip code and the CVV code on the back of the card, ready when calling to make payment. Effective June 21, 2010, credit card transactions are subject to a 3.5% non-refundable fee charged by a third party payment processor (My FloridaCounty.com). Note: You can only use a credit card by phone if you are paying the fine and not electing traffic school.
The Clerk of the Circuit Court cannot offer any information on the number of points assessed against an individual's driver history record, or how points will affect insurance. Please address these concerns and questions with the Bureau of Driver Licenses and/or insurance agent.
Check your driver license status
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles offers a website where you can verify the status of your license by entering your license number. If your license is not valid, a brief explanation and some instructions will display. Please click here to go to the DHSMV website.